This is a very yummy dessert bread, much like cinnamon rolls. It is also known as Bubble Loaf (or as my husband calls it, Bubba-loaf).

A few weeks ago, I was trying to think of something sweet to make without buying any ingredients.  Cinnamon rolls sounded good, but all of the rolling and cutting can be a lot of work.  I remembered this recipe that my mom sometimes makes, and I adapted my cinnamon roll recipe to make it work. It was such a hit with all my friends at dinner, and my husband now requests it once a week.  In fact, he is a little bit sad that I’m sharing the recipe with everyone!  But, it is so good and so easy, that I have to tell everyone about it.  Here it is:

Cinnamon Monkey Bread

Sweet dough:
3/8 c. milk + 3/8 c. water (warm for 1 minute in microwave)
4 T. butter
1 egg
3 c. flour
1/3 c. sugar
1 t. salt
3 t. yeast
Place ingredients in a bread machine in the order listed.  Put on the dough setting (about 1 1/2 hours).

In a small bowl, mix about 1/4 c. sugar, about 3 T. brown sugar, and about 1 t. cinnamon (I have never measured this, so I’m just estimating the amounts.  In another small bowl, melt about 4 T. butter.

When the dough is done, punch it down and place on a floured surface.  Shape the dough into lots of little balls (the number of balls I make depends on how much time I have!).  Dip each ball in butter, roll in the sugar mixture, and place in a greased loaf pan.  Let rise in a warm place until doubled (30-45 minutes).  Bake at 325 for about 20-30 minutes.

If you are really feeling decadent, top with icing or powdered sugar….enjoy!

